The first traces of a structure on this site date back to a Roman fortress built on a former Gallic oppidum. Ideally situated on a strategic crossroads, protected by its raised position on a high hill, the location was perfect for a military structure.

Throughout the twists and turns of history, its defences were regularly strengthened: the keep, different rampart lines, watch towers… Thanks to its strategic location, the fortress was integrated into the royal domain several times, even if the sovereigns did not reside there. The counts of Dreux also benefited. The county was a rich and coveted area, and its vast forests generated a healthy revenue.

In the 18th century, the crown ceded the Château of Dreux to the Bourbon-Penthièvre family. During the Revolution, it was confiscated, sold, and partly demolished. That was the end of the Royal Domain of Dreux’s first life. What remains today is the Medieval keep and the first fortified enclosure, which encircles almost 6 hectares, split into two parks.

When the princes returned, during the Restoration, the monument was recuperated by its owner, Louise Marie Adelaïde of Bourbon, duchess of Orléans. Although the family hardly lived there, work was undertaken at the château to equip it with new elements of comfort. However, it was, above all, the 1816 construction of a large chapel that gave the Domain of Dreux a new lease of life.

It was here that the family chose to install their necropolis by creating, to a certain extent, a “St. Denis of the Orléans”. To afford it all the necessary prestige, the most sought-after artists of the era were commissioned, and the Sèvres workshops’ expertise was mobilised. The cost of this work was evidently significant, but this was about making an impression and matching the family’s high standing.

Discovering the mausoleum of Dreux’s emblematic owners’, King Louis-Philippe and Queen Maria Amelia, will be a key moment in your visit to the Royal Chapel of Dreux.

 

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

Les premières traces d’une construction sur ces lieux remontent à une forteresse édifiée par les romains sur un ancien oppidum gaulois. Idéalement positionnée sur un carrefour stratégique, sécurisée du fait de sa position surélevée sur une haute colline, la place était tout indiquée pour l’installation d’une structure militaire.

Au fil de l’Histoire et de ses différents, ses défenses seront régulièrement renforcées : donjon, différentes lignes de remparts, tours de guets… Toujours du fait de son emplacement stratégique, la forteresse sera à plusieurs reprises intégrée au domaine royal même si les souverains n’y résideront pas. Les comtes de Dreux en partageront la jouissance. Le comté est alors un espace riche et convoité : l’exploitation des grands espaces forestiers qui lui sont attachés génèrent en effet de confortables revenus.

Au XVIIIème siècle, le château de Dreux est cédé par la couronne à la famille de Bourbon-Penthièvre. Sous la révolution, il sera confisqué, vendu et, pour partie, démoli. C’est la fin de la première vie du domaine royal de Dreux. Demeurent aujourd’hui le donjon médiéval et la première enceinte fortifiée qui ceint un espace de près de 6 hectares, répartis en deux parcs.

Au retour des princes, à la Restauration, le monument est récupéré par sa propriétaire, Louise Marie Adelaïde de Bourbon, duchesse d’Orléans. Si la famille y vivra peu, le château fait l’objet de travaux visant à y apporter les nouveaux éléments de confort. Mais c’est surtout l’édification, en 1816, d’une grande chapelle qui donne un nouvel élan au domaine de Dreux.

C’est ici que la famille choisit en effet d’installer sa nécropole en créant, en quelque sorte, un « Saint-Denis des Orléans ». Pour apporter tout le prestige nécessaire à cette réalisation, les artistes les plus en vogue de l’époque seront donc mis à contribution, le savoir-faire de la manufacture de Sèvre sera mobilisé. Le coût de cet aménagement sera évidemment très conséquent, mais il s’agit de marquer les esprits et d’être à la hauteur du statut de la famille.

La découverte du mausolée du roi Louis-Philippe et de la reine Marie-Amélie, emblématiques propriétaires des lieux, constitue aujourd’hui l’un des temps forts de la visite de chapelle royale de Dreux.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.